India Joins The List Of Countries Where Homosexuality Is Not A Crime

New Delhi: 

In a landmark verdict, the Supreme Court ended Section 377, a controversial British-era law that criminalises gay sex in India. The Supreme Court reversed its own 2013 decision and while reading out the verdict, Chief Justice of India Dipak Misra said, “LGBT community possesses rights like others. Majoritarian views and popular morality cannot dictate constitutional rights.” With this verdict, India entered the list of countries where homosexuality is legal.

The LGBT rights have made considerable progress in some parts of the world and now India has joined the list. United Kingdom decriminalized gay sex in 1967 and the United States allowed same-sex marriage in 2015.

Here’s the list of countries where homosexuality is not a crime.

  1. India
  2. United States
  3. Australia
  4. New Zealand
  5. France
  6. Brazil
  7. United Kingdom
  8. Netherlands
  9. Belgium
  10. Canada
  11. Spain
  12. South Africa
  13. Norway
  14. Sweden
  15. Mexico
  16. Iceland
  17. Portugal
  18. Ireland
  19. Argentina
  20. Denmark
  21. Luxembourg
  22. Finland
  23. Germany
  24. Colombia
  25. Malta
  26. Uruguay
  27. Greenland

Countries like Nigeria, Ghana, Iran, Saudi Arabia, Afghanistan, Mauritania, Qatar and Pakistan criminalise homosexuality.

The LGBT community in India has been fighting for their rights since decades and the Supreme Court verdict comes as a big relief for them.

Section 377 denied freedom and rights to LGBT community, Justice Indu Malhotra, who was part of the bench, said, adding, “History owes the LGBT community an apology for their sufferings.”

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *