Setback For BJP In Northeast, 25 Leaders Quit Party Over Tickets

New Delhi: 

At least 25 BJP leaders have resigned across northeast in the last few days, leaving the party in disarray. Today, at least 18 BJP leaders in Arunachal Pradesh, including party general secretary Jarpum Gambin, Home Minister Kumar Waii and Tourism Minister Jarkar Gamlin, and six legislators resigned after being denied tickets for the assembly polls, which will be held along with Lok Sabha elections in April. They have joined Conrad Sangma’s National Peoples party (NPP), a key BJP ally which has decided to go solo across northeast.

The BJP has finalised only two alliances in the northeast region, even as many of its regional allies, including Conrad Sangma’s NPP and Sikkim’s SKM, have dumped the party ahead of the polls.

Besides Mr Waii, Mr Jarkar and Mr Jarpum, BJP legislators Thangwang Wangham, Tapuk Taku, Pani Taram, Pangka Bage, Wangling Lowandong and Kardo Nyigyor and ex-minister Tsering Jurmey have also resigned.

“The NPP would now try to field candidates for at least 30-40 seats in the 60-member assembly. We will form our own government if we win in the seats,” said senior NPP leader Thomas Sangma.

Home Minister Kumar Waii, meanwhile, accused the BJP of practicing dynasty politics.

“If the BJP was right, we would not have resigned. The party’s top leadership says for BJP, the country comes first, the party second and than the individual. But in reality, they practice the opposite. They attack the Congress on its dynasty politics but look at Arunachal pradesh, the Chief Minister’s family have got three tickets,” he said.

Mr Gamlin said he would not have resigned had the party informed him in advance that he would not be given a ticket to contest polls.

“The choice was between choosing the party or my people whom I was leading for the past three years. In electoral politics, people are more important than the party and I have gone with the decision of my supporters,” Mr Gamlin said.

“If I was informed in advance that I won’t be given party ticket, I would not have resigned. But I was always given a false impression by the party,” he added.

BJP leader Kiren Rijiju said that the decision on tickets was made by the central election committee.

“Party ticket is an internal matter of the party. As per the recommendation of state election committee, final decision was taken by the central election committee. Yes, sitting ministers were denied tickets, but that’s because of the ground situation assessed by the parliamentary board,” he said.

The NPP is expected to announce the final list of its candidates by Wednesday. The BJP has already declared a list 54 candidates for the assembly polls.

Get the latest election news, live updates and election schedule for Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram for updates from each of the 543 parliamentary seats for the 2019 Indian general elections.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *